soapboxdiner


What a woman knows



15 minutes left at the end of the day and I'm really not feeling it. Like I'm REALLY gonna start a new project with only 15 minutes to go.

Not that I have anything new to report here. Mom turns 59 today. She's invited the 00d's and I out to the theater Saturday to celebrate.

I finally sat down with D00d and explained why I've been cranky since August. Funny, because most of time when/if a woman (1) mentions a complaint to another woman (2), #2 KNOWS what what #1 means and usually implicitly understands what #1 expects as far as resolution.

If that makes sense.

Not so with men. #1 could have the same conversation with a man and god bless him, #1 has to explain in detail what the issue is, why it makes her crazy, then why she's sharing it with him, and usually has to tell me what she wants him to do about it. It's exhausting.

D00d and I were writing a song for The Musical, and I was trying to explain to him how this point in plot, The Heroine, who had previously been filled with self doubt, found her mojo again and was gonna go kick some A$$ to get her Man back from the Evil Villain.

Poor D00d looked lost. He said, "Women are weird. I'm not sure I understand what you're talking about. I'm still trying to figure you out."

A woman, though, would understand the mustering up of Will over Matter.

(Or maybe just the women that I like would understand.)

Anyways. On the personal front, I told D00d how I've been feeling and what I want, etc. Then I asked him to clarify some roles and expectations for me so we know we're on the same page. And when I was done, he just said, "Thanks for telling me what's on your mind. I love you."

And I'm left shaking my head because even as direct as I was leading him to the water, he still didn't understand that he was supposed to take a drink. After all that, I still don't know what his plan is beyond tomorrow and a fantasy. Except that he loves me, god bless.



4:45 pm - 10.28.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers