soapboxdiner


New Calm SBD



So, by the way, the New Calm SBD? She's rockin' ambivalence like a pro and loving it. Amazing how much easier life is when you don't take everything so personally.

For example, when one of the employees sent me an email with a two-page tome this morning at 5:30 a.m. (for the third time) regarding one of our Excel files that requires the user to adjust the vertical scroll bar width, and "strongly advised" me to rename all the tabs so she wouldn't have to click a button, I didn't even die of a brain aneurysm. I just laughed a little on the inside and replied (seven hours later), that when prioritizing the functions of my position in the company, redesigning the file to save her from having to click ONE button doesn't weigh in very high on my "value-added" list. Sincerely hope you understand and aren't too disappointed. Thank you for your feedback and have a nice day. Please let me know if you'd like me to provide you with a demonstration on how to do it your damn self.

But I ended up doing it anyway. Whatever. Take a valium, honey.

Now see, didn't that feel GOOD?

Tomorrow I'm teaching a class and the Director will be in attendance. ** Shudder ** Honestly, if I never had to get in front of a classroom again, I'd be very OK with that. Only two more classes for 2009. I can do this!

Did I tell you, darlings, that Boss hired SEVEN new employees that I get to train all at the very same time? Doing the math, that's roughly 84 documents per week, with an average of 12 pages per document, which equals me getting to read, revise, and provide feedback on 1008 pages of text per week, on top of my other duties.

Is it any wonder I have only read probably three books from cover to cover this year? My eyes are TIRED!

Tonight is the last night M00d (Mom of Dood) is out of town. Tonight is usually date night, but the kiddo called me and asked if he could have a friend spend the night, so no date night tonight.

I will be SO glad when the 00d's get their house paid off. Less than two years left on the mortgage. D00d will then be officially free of conscience to pursue his own happiness without worry that his fixed-income mother won't be forced to eat cat food to financially survive. Just imagine, actually living with the person who loves me and whom I love! Novelty of novelties. Maybe he'll actually feel OK to propose. Or not. I'd be OK with living in sin.

Anyway.

The kids are Wii'ing and chores are calling. I totally want ice cream. Thankfully we don't have any in the house. Seriously, ice cream in the freezer sings so sweetly to me, there is no other choice than to celebrate its deliciousness with a spoon every time it's near. And honestly, though I'm so FAR from the dieter mentality that I actually stare at the back of its head, secretly on the inside, I'm really glad when it's safely at the store outside of my earshot -- and my spoon.



6:45 pm - 08.18.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers