soapboxdiner


Cuz that's what it takes to get by. Approved by Inspector 9



As he who knows not the right way, when as it happens one road is separated into many, because he knows not the way, remains in anxiety, and dares neither make choice of particular roads, nor try them all; so, if a man has no stedfast judgment of truth, even as his unbelieving suspicion is scattered, so his doubting opinion is unsettled. It is therefore no wonder if [he] in the same way is cast about by the tide, and tossed hither and thither among things contrary and repugnant to one another; but that this may no longer be the case, I will convict and refute all that has been said, however diverse, confirming and approving the truth alone; and for the future he must neither doubt nor waver.

The Octavius of Minucius Felix

And in that, the charge and the conviction. Fascinating, though, the very humanity that ties millenia together, despite the repugnancy displayed within the lack of self-determining certainty.

But in other news, this weekend felt so much like a honeymoon. D00d played for me the score he's composed to our musical "opera," as he calls it. Together, we lay collaborating on lyrics, then making love. Rinse, repeat. Sounds cheesy, doesn't it? Fitting, because I am the idea and he is the polish. He could say it better than I can.

I didn't even mind too, too much when he played for me a song that was obviously written for and about his ex ... Well, that's not really true, is it? I did and do mind that she crosses his mind still, even if all the names were changed to protect my apparently delicate ego. What do I care? She has a song -- I have an opera, and the composer.

Still 'dough. Rationality is a prick, darlings. I want her erased from his remembrance and I want my own song. What would that sounds like? What would it say? It always sounds so much better when it's put down for the ages as something concrete.

But then again, if she were erased, would he be THIS man, or would he be someone else entirely different without the sensitivities and understandings she prompted?

I suppose the question and its answer are both equally banal.

Good night.



10:04 pm - 08.10.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers