soapboxdiner


Three Year Itch



It's the sameness that's the killer. It's the drudgery of day in and day out that one day you shake yourself out of and realize your own complacency is the cause of your lack of excitement, lack of vision, lack of purpose or even the puzzle that keeps you engaged in mental motion. And of course all that is the cause of all the anxiety and restlessness and irritibility.

The Three Year Itch.

It's just time. And I have found my next goal, and I'm excited and I am not afraid.

Well, maybe just a little.

Next week I'm going to go the boss and tell her this isn't it for me anymore. I need more. And then I'll tell her that I want to discuss a fair and reasonable exit plan that facilitates a smooth transition. I'd like to move back into production and continue to work for the company part-time while I earn my degree. I think technical writing. I already have a medical background, and an interest in technology. The field is projected to continue to grow for at least the next decade.

So anyways. Hurrah. A plan that I can move towards. And the fear that I had before about the dreaded, "I see you took a demotion. Why was that?" I can confidently and truthfully say, "It was a strategic transitional move made so I could focus on my education while maintaining an income and consistent employment record."

Easy.

Oh, and by the way. I cut all my hair off tonight too. Kinda a reverse bob. Ish. Love the three year itch, darlings.



11:19 pm - 07.15.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers