soapboxdiner


Let's move



Coming back to work from vacation, I realize how totally I have moved past ambivalence about my current position and how far into active dislike for it I have come.

Darlings, it is way past time for me to move on, and it SCARES me. I haven't had very many good experiences in the past with job hunting, but I do know that once I reach this point of active discontent, it's only a matter of time before I fuck up my good name and everyone else's good will for me.

I have to suck up my fear and jump in, darlings. So I've updated my resume and applied for a couple of posiitons. I'm scared of what to say to my current boss when I ask for time off -- you see, we're friends too, so it's not like I can offhandingly toss her a little white lie. "Oh, got an appointment, be back this afternoon," will probably land me a, "OH, OK. Where ya goin'?" Gah. I hate that.

What's the appropriate way to approach changing jobs? Do you tell your boss/friend that you're burned out and need a change? That you're actively looking for alternate employment? Do you slink around incognito and lay the news on 'em once you've got a solid offer on the table?

Man, and the funny thing is, will they beg me to stay with offers of more money and excitement, or will they accept it without a word? Either way, it's uncomfortable. I wouldn't stay in my current position for any amount, I don't think. It's sucked away my will to live. But I love the company and the people. All the positions currently available are a demotion for me.

Le sigh.

Wish me luck, darlings.



10:56 pm - 06.29.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers