soapboxdiner


Can't Nobody Break My Stride.



Life is really, really good, darlings. Do you have even the slightest glimmer of a notion how wonderful that is to type?

Last Saturday was my 36th birthday. Kiddo asked me what I wanted, and I told him DIRT! Give me compost or give me nothing at all. It's time to prepare for vegetable growing. I asked for four bags, which is 4 cubic feet. D00d took him to the Home Despot and they bought me 8 cubic feet of the good stuff, plus three kinds of tomato seeds, cukes, pole beans and carrots. Add to that the different kinds of peppers, radishes and leafy stuffs I already had, we're looking at a tasty fresh summer.

Went to Flower World with M00d (Mom of D00d) and flowered to our hearts' content. Bought $200 of plants, then went home and put them all in the ground. I think pulmonaria is my favorite this year.

Pretty pretty.

THEN, D00d took us all out to dinner. Shh. Secret. He spent over $150 for dinner for five, plus bought me FIVE books and garden stuff. Lordy, lord. That's a lot of money to spend on me. It was very weird and just a little uncomfortable. He shouldn't have done that.

We've set the date when Kiddo and I move in -- end of August. Um, SCARY! But nice.

Our one-year anniversary is June 6th -- by the way, that's also the anniverary of D-Day, did you know? Neither did I, until I started dating a WWII fanatic. Haven't decided if it's a good omen or bad ... D00d says he is saving up for "something romantic" to celebrate our anniversary. And again, Nice, but I'm not at all romantic, or good with gifts for that matter. If he goes crazy, does he not realize that he will wrack me with The Guilt? It's a HUGE personal milestone for D00d and he's really excited about it, but I am filled with trepidation that whatever I do or give will fall very much short. Any ideas of good anniversary gifts? What do I give him to show him that I love that we're together?



5:52 pm - 04.22.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers