soapboxdiner


What do you think?



So D00d. This is the strangest relationship I've ever been in. Completely new territory.

So . . . we're eight months in now and starting to talk about future-y type things. And the funny thing, sometimes he initiates it -- like mentioning the Kiddo and I moving in -- and sometimes he drags his feet.

Right now we're/he's refinishing the hobby room at his place. We tore down the girly wallpaper that's lived there since they bought the place and painting it Man colors. His mother wants to make him curtains for the room -- he wants her to leave the hobby room to him. So I've dubbed it the Man Cave.

Every man should have a Man Cave, in my opinion. Women tend to take over decorating and honestly, I think if a man is handling his responsibilities and pays a mortgage, well, he's entitled to at least one space that's his own in the house he's paid/paying for.

"Pretty soon it's gonna be the Unisex Cave," says D00d.

"Well, I think it should stay the Man Cave, baby. You need a place where no one will put out displays of potpourri and teddy bears."

Not that I would do that, but I'm just saying. Just like I would expect him to keep his nose out of my walk-in closet -- unless it were to say, "Honey, you need a new pair of shoes for that skirt you wear once a year. Here, let me take you to the mall and buy you a new pair of shoes."

Some things are just best that way.

So in the throes the other night, he says, "What do you think?"

This is code, you see. It means different things at different times, but it's pretty much all the same.

He says, "You know what I think."

So in the throes, I say, "OK. When?"

And thus began the dance of words.

"When what?" says D00d.

Oh, Lord. OK. Well, let me back off. thinks me. "How's Wednesday treat you?" Har-de-har-har.

"Wednesday? What are you talking about?"

"Well, it's a good day, don't you think?"

"You know what I think."

"I think that too."

"So what's Wednesday? That doesn't give us a lot of time. Can you book a church that soon?"

"I don't know. That's not the part I fantasize about. I was kinda waiting on the proposal first."

"Are we talking about the same thing, SBD?"

Jesus Christ. I'm trying to concentrate here, D00d! It's not like these lovemaking things happen on their own, you know! "I don't know, are we?"

"Well, it hasn't even been a year yet."

"I know. Why are we talking about this right now?"

"You know what I think."

"I know what you think."

Unisex Man Caves and extra space in the closet for more shoes.

"Do you think it too, SBD?"

"I think it too."

"Well, it's kinda soon. It hasn't even been a year yet."

"So why are we talking about it? Shush now. Stop talking."

And that's how that all goes.

"You're still coming over for the weekend, right?"

"Yes, D00d. I'm still coming over."

"So what do you think?"



6:09 pm - 01.29.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers