soapboxdiner


On moving and such



Well, about 3/4 of the house is packed up and half of it's moved. The remainder are things we NEED - the beds, plates and bowls and frying pans, and the essentials from the bathroom.

The school has been notified, as have about half the people I owe money to every month.

The Salvation Army came and picked up a bunch of furniture I won't have room for in the new place. Outgrown clothes and whatall have been delivered to Good Will. More stuff for Value Village will be going today, along with some more boxing up.

But you know what? It still doesn't feel real. In six days I won't live here anymore, and I have no solid picture of exodus in my head. Weird. I've never NOT had my immediate future very clearly defined. But this time . . . meh. It will be what it is, and I have no opinion of it whatsoever, besides the fact that it's inconvenience as hell.

Realtor emailed me earlier this week and said the buyers want to have the home inspection on the 4th. I said, Well, we'll be moved out by the 11th - that's only 7 days more. Can't they wait? -- Well, it will be better if we get it done sooner rather than later, he replies. Well, just stall them one week. Hold the inspection on the 11th, and by the 12th I will have all the carpets shampooed and they call start moving in right away after that. -- Well, I'll see what they say.

Then Friday night he calls and says they want to reschedule. They turned down my request for the 11th, and they can't do it on the 4th, he says, but they want to do it on the 5th. WTF?

Fine, that's just fine. Never fucking mind I'm in the middle of packing and moving, and the house is a disaster. Nevermind it's only 6 more days out of their lives and they're renegging on what they wrote into their offer, where they said they'd hold off on the inspection until after the bank approval - which HASN'T BEEN FORMALIZED yet. Just come on over, assholes. Never fucking mind that you're getting a 4-bedroom house on a 1/4 acre for practically nothing. Better make it really fucking inconvenient for me while you're at it.

Assholes.

But in better news, we've finished helping my brother and his wife lay the new carpet in their house, so we get all new carpet. We get the entire first floor to ourselves -- 3 bedrooms and the living room. I bought the kiddo new curtains for his room and he's getting a new queen-sized bed. I bought myself some lovely new bedding. I choose yummy chocolate sheets and a pale sagey/camel duvet. I'm kind of thinking maybe adding morracan or indian accents - coppers or bronzes or sapphire or emerald or wine colors. I don't know - I love those colors, but I fear it would be very easy to have it turn out looking like Hooker Town. I've never really 'decorated' my room before and to be honest with you, all my comforters are totally 80s floral. How embarrassing!

The computer will be coming down on Friday and I don't know when it will go back up. The third room ('the office') at the new house is currently filled with 3/4 of what was in this house, so I have no idea when I'll feel inclined to dig it out and get it all organized. I just think I don't really care about any of it right now.



12:37 pm - 02.03.08
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers