soapboxdiner


Large sucking holes



Recent conversation with my mother:

Mom: When does school start up again?

Me: I'm not sure, I haven't gotten the mail notice yet. Couple of weeks, I think.

Mom: I don't think so, SBD. I think it starts the day after Labor Day.

Me: No. It does not start Tuesday. The school would have sent out a notice.

Mom: I'm pretty sure, dear.

Me: Well, you're senile.

Later that day:

Me: Hi, Elementary School Secretary? Yeah hi. Could you tell me please, when is school starting again?

Sec: It starts Tuesday, ma'am.

Me: Tuesday! But but... why wasn't I notified WEEKS ago!?!

Sec: Well, ma'am. Yeah. Do you not watch the news? Read the paper? Listen to the radio? Hm? Hmmmmm?


Apparently, I live in a large, sucking hole of un-information. This surprises no one, I'm sure. I am equally sure that the next three days will be spent entirely at the mall or like establishment purchasing Tuffskins and tennies and all the other multitudinous school sundry.

Yeah. I think I'll go do that now... right after I apologize to my mother. God I hate when she's right.



10:49 am - 08.30.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers