soapboxdiner


Domesticity at it's finest



So, it's like... I made BBQ ribs and potato salad for dinner. I had me some compnee, see. Steven begged to sit next to the compnee. They chatted and laughed and truly have become the best of friends. They discussed their mutual love of eggs. I watched and listened and thought... this is what it feels like to have a family - a real, more than me and the kid, sit down at the table for a meal, actually talk and laugh and tease and kid around family.

I did not talk over much - but then again, it is a rare moment when I feel truly talkative.

Steven hopped into the shower and Compnee and I washed dishes and took out trash. Steven rejoined us dressed in a night shirt and Alfalfa Hair. We all sat on the couch and read his animal encyclopedia. Steven asked Compnee to read him the page on red-butted monkey. I've save you your suspense... it regarded the mating.

Compnee declined to read him that particular page. Steven shared his Choco Taco from the ice cream man anyway.

Tangent:
Have you seen that one commercial where the ice cream guy is teasing all the neighborhood peoples by stop-go-stop-going and licking a tastey cold cone to taunt them? And they're all running after him and it's a commercial for some clothing store or something because all the people have fashion line names popping up under their persons? That's the funniest mofo'in commercial I've seen since Where's the Beef.

I love that commercial.

End tangent.

By 10 Compnee shared with us that she needed to go home, as she couldn't stay up all night till midnight like me. She needs her beauty sleep, she says.

She hugged the kid and pecked me on the cheek.

And that was really nice.

Also, I can sure make a mean potato salad, y'all. I love me some potato salad in the summer time.



10:33 pm - 07.14.03
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers