soapboxdiner


Screws and loops



So it's 8:30 on a Friday night - what CHOO doin'?

Me, I'm off to bed to snuggle in tight and dream of all the money I shall be making tomorrow. I'm one lucky beotch. New Boss II (as opposed to the old New Boss who out of lack of all originality us and shall always be known simply as New Boss - without the Roman numeral) said, "Would you like some overtime on Saturday, dear? Could you be here at 6 a.m.? (Evil, evil.) Oh, but wait. I'll have to get your time approved. You're a temp after all."

But I said yes anyway thinking it would sure be nice to be making a double digit per hour wage again. It's been a while, you see. And then today I thought...

Heeeey! Wait just one damned minute here. I've worked my 40 hours this week - but only 24 of those were at this company. I don't get OT pay for this!.

I got screwed, man.


So that mother of mine. She's a hoot. You just never can tell what she's gonna say.

Tonight as I dropped the kid off for the night, she asked about the new job. I, naturally, had to share about the golf cart. I mean, who else do you know gets to drive a golf cart. I am simply in love with the golf cart. I doubt if I will ever tire of the golf cart. It's like being at the carnival without all the obnoxious people.

Anyway, so I tell her about the Big Immunocytochemistry Lab interview and my mother, whose very motto usually sounds something like this: "You don't have to like it, honey - it's a job and a living, not your life" said to me, "Yes, BIL may be more money, but where would you be happier?"

She's throwing loops at me, people. I'm just not equipped for the loops, I tell you. Shows what she knows. Of course I'll be happier at the place that - take a guess now...

PAYS ME THE MONEY.

Jeez. It's just not that complicated, is it?

P.S. You fine uplifting ladies are beautiful people. Thank you.



8:38 pm - 11.15.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers