soapboxdiner


The vest of my love



Once upon a time, there was a guy I really dug. Worked in the Psych Unit of the hospital I worked at. Played jazz bass in a band. Would come down and chat and give me shoulder massages and make me laugh. Always wore high-water black jeans with white socks and paisley vests over Fonzy-esque T-shirts. Sported a heinous mullet. I was in love, people!

I had no words to express my deep and abiding affection, though. I struggled. I wrung my hands. And then I asked my therapist, "How do I tell this guy I want to keep him and love him and hug him and squeeze him?"

She suggested coffee. I, on the other hand, thought this was just too typical. So Vest Guy and I continued our dysfunctional little merry-go-round of innuendo and attraction-skirting. He'd come down to my department and would rub my back. I told him he had nice hands, and I had to keep them. He asked me what I would do with them.

Looooong pregnant pause.

So I, being the smooth and subtle creature that I am, just spit it out in a mid-day communique, "I really like you. I want to date you and perhaps plan our emminent nuptuals."

He emailed me back and told me "don't ever contact me again - freak."



2:20 pm - 11.10.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers