soapboxdiner


Inheritted furniture and green velour



I had a dream last night that I came home one day and all of my parent's furniture was sitting on my porch. I looked at it all very quizzically but walked past it. Once inside, I looked out the widown and both of my parent's vehicles pulled up onto my lawn. They got out, grabbed the furniture and started populating my living room with it.

My parents give me high-end furniture in my dreams.

I'm sure there is a symbolism there, but I'm not quite sure if it means relations with the fam are on the mend or if it involves needing someplace solid to plant my tush.

At any rate, their couches and chairs sure looked good with my name on them. How did they know I covet their stuff?

So last night we went school shopping. Have I mentioned I am the queen of school shopping? I made it out of the store with all the kid's supplies and four outfits in under $100. No, it isn't designer stuff, but it's all new and it's all fashionable. Which is more than I can say I had as a kid. I remember wearing the same turquoise-green velour shirt for school pictures in second and third grades. Lucky for me in all my duck-taped glasses glory, everyone remembered and laughed heartily at my expense.

These are the things that scar me.

I suppose it's lucky I don't live in Serbia or the Middle East, hm? Just imagine the damage that would do to me, if velour shirts haunt me so.



6:22 am - 08.28.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers