soapboxdiner


Onward into therapy lightly



I don't have a bunch of time to get into what i want to talk about tonight - as the last T-ball practice is scheduled in 15 minutes. Please consider this a bookmark.

Today must be mental health awareness day on diaryland. The CPTN and Cerebrate talk about it tonight - both of whom are squarely aligned with what I was thinking about on the way home.

Mental illness. PTSD. Yeah, that's me. Nice to meet you. Was in therapy for three years (off and on) for the PSTD. Depression wasn't really discussed beyond the "get involved. Be active. Get a life - it will make you happier" which in my humble opinion is a bunch of crap to tell a depressed person who is in the throes of #1 social and generalized anxiety and #2 severe dysthymia characterized by shallow affect. Oh well.

I've come a long way in recovering from my PTSD re: my dad's family, the alcoholism, and the sexual crap. I've come a long way in regard to my teenaged promiscuity and feelings that I have permanently soiled myself for anything decent.

But there is so much more and so much new. I need to get back into therapy for some of this stuff.

Life is too precious to waste and waiting for recovery to come find me.

Oops. Looks like I've talked about most of what I wanted to say. That was a quick venting. I must be conditioned for the short sessions.



5:14 pm - 08.14.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers