soapboxdiner


Saturday leisure



Ahhh. Finally my day of decadence... sweet melted chocolate and eyelash kisses. That's how the day was, not what it was filled with.

This morning came early with coffee and Zelda with a little gap-toothed child. Hours of this left me ready for a quiet "me" moment consisting of a long soak in bath salts, a facial and a pedicure. With the steam still rising from my water-puckered but baby smooth flesh, powder-scent lotion was massaged in from head to toe to protect my freshly girl-ified person.

That was the best bath I've had in ages.

Feeling ready to absorb and explore the world, I called that saucy mama Cerebrate to invite her out for some coffees and shopping - but I only succeeded in waking her husband. (oops. helps to check the clock before ringing a person, doesn't it? Sorry again, darling.) After rushed apologies and a promise to call later at a decent hour, I hung up the phone.

So instead I called Midas and took the car in - and went to Duncan Donuts for more coffee while the battery terminals were replaced for free. Thanks, Rick.

While walking to DD's, the child and I ran into a pack of exercise-attired walkers. Among them was D, ex-co-worker/nemesis/travelling Deadheaded hippy child. What's this? I asked and she replied Three day, 60 mile walk for breast cancer. Is this your son, he's beautiful. It was good to see her again. I hadn't seen her in at least seven years - probably more like nine. She looked the same, but maybe more settled. Despite being in day 2/mile mark 40, she looked great.

And the afternoon was rounded out with a trip to the mall. Two peasant shirts, two relatively low-riding pairs of jeans, and a FABULOUS silver-embedded-with-faux-mother-of-pearl-and-studded-with-aquamarines-bracelet (which matches my new sinfully colored nails perfectly) later, I am a contented woman.

I think I shall nap and try to ring her again. I hope she is as "planless but looking" as I am for an evening out.



2:38 pm - 08.10.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers