soapboxdiner


how my garden grows



I am attempting to rescue my yard and garden from the three-foot-high brown wasteland it became in the months of my departure.

Though it is small (20 x 7 feet is all), it is my haven. Or at least it used to be before the wasteland encroached. Once upon a time it was full of mini irus and trumpet flowers, peonies, Asian, day and calla lillies and a beautiful deep purple clematis. Daffodils and tulips in the spring and two lovely junipers and a willowy young lilac for winter structure. All of it obscured up until today.

The grass was so tall that it killed the weed-eater I use to trim the whole of the lawn. So me and the hardware store got reacquainted. New weed eater in hand, the wasteland was wasted. The weeds have all been pulled now and some form has re-emerged. Have I told you how much I love the river rock faux-path I created to round the shed? It is a feature I particularly enjoy for its japanese garden-inspired perspective-bending illusion of massiveness.

But it is still looking sad and unloved. My beauties have withered - many have died. The iris needs dividing and there are distinct holes in bed. They'll have to be filled with annuals this year - maybe just some autumn mums this year. Definitely something scented of the perennial variety next year though.

Oh my delphinium, schizanthus and columbine, how I missed you so.



3:11 pm - 08.04.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers