soapboxdiner


Nice.



Just when you're feeling on top of the world, someone with a big ass shovel scoops the dirt out from under you, darlings. And that's straight from Aristotle/Confucius/Nietzsche/Jung and shit.

So I get an email Wednesday from the Kiddo's math teacher. "Um, Mrs. SBD, did you know your son is failing?"

No, I did not.

"Yeah, and he's failing Social Studies, too."

Oh, ouch. Shit.

"Yeah."

Then:

Dear Mrs. Social Studies teacher,
Is my kid failing? Let me know.
Thanks!

"Yes. He's failing. Won't tell you what he's missing though. There's a website. Have your kid show it to you. Hope you found it helpful ..."

To be honest, that's not helpful even a little. He's the one HIDING PERTINENT INFORMATION. But thank you for making minimal effort to include me in the loop. I'll go ahead and chase down a bunch of unrelated people to get the information you could have provided with a single screen shot in, like, two seconds. :( :(
cc: Principal.

"Dear Mrs. SBD.
Oh, yeah. I get it. Here's a screen shot. If he turns in 4 missing assignments, he'll still get partial credit. Have him turn it in by Friday."

Thanks, teacher. Sorry for venting frustration. I do really appreciate your help. Thank you.

So. Kiddo. Where is your homework?

"I don't know. I don't have any."

Really? Cuz I got a list from your Math teacher and your Social Studies teacher. See, the lists are right here.

"Oh."

And three hours of going through papers he THREW AWAY, we found all the math assignments. Another two hours of putzing to get them done. Then organizing his papers, then putting together a To Do List to take to his teacher for signing.

Now get me a list of assignments that your Social Studies teacher wouldn't give me. Have her sign it. I want to see it as soon as I get home from work tomorrow. Now you can go to bed.

*Next day*
Where's your To Do List?

"I don't know. I didn't get one. She wouldn't give it to me."

Really? Because I emailed her today and she gave it to me.

"Oh."

Get me your binder.

"Oh, here it is."

Where's your assignment packet?

"I don't know."

You just had it two hours ago.

"I don't have it."

Let me see your binder.

"It's not in there."

Go do your Math.

"OK."

8:30 finally rolls around and Math is done. Get started on your Social Studies now. I had to threaten murder to get your assignments. YOU are GOING to do them.

"I don't have them."

So an hour of tearing every piece of paper out of his binder AGAIN. Nothing. Tear apart his room. Oh, there it is, under the mattress. How did the assignment you *weren't* given just a couple of hours ago end up shoved under your mattress, sweetums? Are you lying to your mother? Tsk tsk, darling. I had to nearly kill to get cooperation from one person on this already. Do you imagine I have any problem whatsoever with making that double? Here, allow me to sit on your bed and stare at your forehead. You WILL get this done TONIGHT.

*Today*
Letter in the mail:

"Dear Parent of KIDDO:
Your child has failed 3 out of 18 courses he/she has taken this year. Be advised that students must pass 20 of 24 courses or the School District is required to hold the child back from advancing to the 6th/7th/8th grade. Common causes of failure are due to absenteeism or incomplete assignments.
Good luck with that.
Principal Helpful"



6:04 pm - 04.24.09
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers