soapboxdiner


Advice, please



Parents out there, I call to you for help. I tell you, for all I love my son, for all I want to protect him and teach him and socialize him to be happy, healthy, and productive... he is acting in ways that I simply cannot seem to change. His teacher is telling me we should consider medical advice. He is in "intervention" at least twice a week. His daycare providers tell me he is lying to CPS workers investigating other parents. He is cutting other children's clothing with scissors and purposefully losing his own winter sweaters and jackets. He is breaking things at home and generally acting out.

It isn't that he is doing these things maliciously or because he's angry - he's just doing them. He knows his actions are unacceptable. He can tell you exactly why they're wrong, and ways he can correct himself. We have a poster on the frig detailing the steps to good listening - which is a great part of his problem. He receives love, guidance, and many, many talks. He receives positive reinforcement, discipline when needed, talks, time outs, even spankings.

I've done everything I know how to do - and none of them are working. I cannot allow him to continue being distructive and disrespectful. I cannot allow him to fall behind in school because he won't sit still and work. I refuse to medicate him. He is not attention-deficient.

I don't know what he is. But whatever the problem is that he is experiencing, it needs to stop soon - now.

Tell me, how do I fix this problem?



5:18 pm - 12.08.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers