soapboxdiner


Munster do's and dying



My goodness. It's been half a week since I've updated - most uncharacteristic of me. Oh well, I have nothing pertinent, new or exciting to share at the moment, and I just cannot be bothered to write yet again about the job search.

The current assignment is the same. They've asked that I come back on Monday, which is very kind, considering. Bill kindly shared with me on Thursday that Big Boss said of my return, "What the hell is she doing here? I told the temp agency that she was never welcome here again!"

Bill is thoughtful that way. He must have athlete's tongue, putting his foot in his mouth like that. I felt badly (that being a mingled sense of outrage over BBs unappreciativeness for all the hard work I did on the last assignment and a large dose of humiliation at having to crawl back to the company now, when I left in disgust only two months ago) but then rationally decided that I always knew Big Boss was an asshole, and so my dejection and humiliation were wasted on him. I'm with a different department now and have a different supervisor, so Big Boss can kiss my ever expanding tush. It does put a damper on my hopes for being reconsidered when my old position opens back up in the middle of the month. I say "hopes" not because I suddenly love the job I did there previously, but more because the money's better. Eh, whatever. I suppose I burned that bridge myself - as tenuous as the bridge was.

Friday was spent doing very, very hard manual labor. I didn't eat anything all day and by the time I got off work, I was dry heaving dust. I couldn't turn my head because all the muscles in my neck had spasmed, I couldn't see because I had possibly the worst headache of my life, and I couldn't walk because I overworked several large muscle groups throughout my entire body. I had just enough energy to go home and die. Apparently I'm no longer cut out for lifting ninety pound boxes all day. Must be this getting old bit.

Speaking of getting old, I found a lovely patch of grey at my temple that I hadn't seen before. It is a cluster of maybe a dozen hairs and goes from root to tip - about 6 inches or so long. I quite like it, actually. It has added a Lilly Munster mystique to my sultry self. Beats paying the beautician to add chunky highlights, don't you agree?

Today was spent on lots and lots of nothing. I did up these for the new girl in town to consider. If you haven't read her yet, get your butt on over there. She's a hoot!

I IMed with a good friend I haven't seen in far too long. Of course, her being on the opposite side of the country has NOTHING to do with that.

And lastly, I gave the kid a disgustingly overdue haircut. Needless to say, he's looking quite dapper now. We even found his ears - which unfortunately for him take a considerable amount of effort to lose. Yes, he gets his elephantine ears from his father, naturally.

And that's all. So now that I've bored and depressed you all to tears, I will bid you all adieu. I have some more dying to do. I shoulders hurt like a sonofabitch. I think I pulled something.



8:01 pm - 11.09.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers