soapboxdiner


Ho ho ho. Oh wait...



On my sitemeter this morning, this:

Somehow, she doesn't appear at all like the mental picture I'd had of my dream girl. Good thing she pointed herself out to me, I might have missed her.

Something bad happened this morning, but as part of my new Zen therapy, I'm not going to talk about it. It might multiply. You can thank me later.

Tonight we're getting all the neighborhood kids together for trick or treating. Steven's going as Zorro, his hero. He looks ADORABLE in his costume, too. Little black caballeros hat, mask and cape - full with sword and all. We'll be painting on him a stylish little goatie after school so all the girlies can commence the group swooning shortly thereafter. He'll be such a stud!

In my email box this morning, I got this:

Thank you for sending your resume applying for our Secretary to the Director position. I am the Administrator. I would like to tell you a little more about our needs and the job we hope to fill to see if it's something you're interested in.

This job pays an hourly wage of $14.24/hour but does NOT provide health insurance or other benefits. I need someone a minimum of four hours/day EVERY day Mon-Fri starting at 8:00 a.m. sharp. There will often times be opportunities for 8-hour days, but I can't always promise full-time hours. If you're looking for a full-time career opportunity with health insurance and other benefits, this is probably not a good match. This job would be ideal as a second income in a household with other source of medical insurance, or possibly for a student with afternoon classes.

Attendance and punctuality are critical ... sick people make me grumpy! Our Director does not use a computer at all so he needs you to be his fingers on the keyboard to the outside world. He writes everything long-hand with a fountain pen and needs you to type his email for him in Outlook and draft proposals, reports and everything else in Word for Windows 2000. You'll also need to print out his email as it comes in so he can read it on paper. In addition, our Director will need you to call people for him to schedule phone calls and meetings and generally organize and plan his life. You'll also be responsible for the incoming phone calls, but that's only two phone lines because most of us answer our own private phone lines and have our own voice mail boxes. But our Director doesn't answer his own phone so you'll have to do that for him. Finally, we'll need you to run the xerox machine, fax machine, sort the mail and maintain the office supplies.

Finally, our Center is totally dependent on grant funding and a major priority this spring will be winning the next big federal grant. Without that, I can't promise anything beyond June 2003 at this time.

If you have read all this and still feel this is the right job for you and your circumstances, please reply to this email with a phone number and let me know when would be a good time for us to chat. Of course, if you're looking for a regular full-time career opportunity, I fully understand and wish you the best of luck with your continued job search.

I wonder if he has some kind of disease or handicap for which he needs accommodations. Can you imagine needing that kind of assistance? How frustrating it must be for an educated and successful person to need someone else to make his simple phone calls and to write his emails. I wonder what it is? It's probably not something with his eyes, because he can read fine, it sounds. Not his ears because he can hear, and not his hands because he can write. MS, do you think? Parkinson's?

I bet he's a very inspirational person. He's the Director of a program that helps at-risk kids. Probably full of humor and strength, too. Just keeps on going no matter how many obstacles that healthy people take for granted are presented to him.

I'm tempted to call. I could use some face-time with inspiration to pull me out of my own whining. I'd feel a lot better about it though if it were full time with benes. And not a grant-funded hence dicey proposition.

What do you all think? Would you take a position under those circumstances? Perhaps there would be the opportunity to transfer afterward? It IS at the local and very reputable uni -- where I might later wish to have some connections when I apply for a degree program there.

I don't know. I really need something stable. I'm 50/50ish on the whole thing. Too many variables to compute.



10:25 am - 10.31.02
previous | next


Home | Archives | Profile | Notes | DiaryLand | Random Entry

Other Diaries:

exegetical
jimbostaxi
wafflehead
bibliomaniac
sidewaysrain
boxx9000
stepfordtart
invisibledon
fuck--that
fling-poo
girl-genius
singledadguy
unowhatihate
ten-oclock
unowhatilike
idividedbyi
ann-frank
ohophelia
skinny--girl
mare-ingenii
unclebob
myramains
sugarbabylon
acornotravez
bluedoor
toastcrumbs
wilberteets
idiot-milk
scarydoll
marn
theshivers